LEADTOOLS Support
Imaging
Imaging SDK Questions
Destination path for TWAIN File Transfer Mode
This topic and its replies were posted before the current version of LEADTOOLS was released and may no longer be applicable.
#1
Posted
:
Tuesday, February 6, 2007 8:59:05 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 101
Hi,
I am using LeadTools 14 with Visual Basic.
My program acquires 16 bit image in File Transfer Mode from Twain device.
To acquire an image, I am executing following Twain sequence
ICAP_XFERMECH = TWSX_FILE
ICAP_BITDEPTH = 16
Image get acquired successfully
- At "C:\twain.bmp" which is the default path of device.
- Acquired image is 16 bit image.
I want to acquire this image at "D:\sample.bmp" path.
To do so, I set FileTransferName property of LEADRasterTwain object to "D:\sample.bmp"
Then I execute same sequence above.
Image get acquired successfully
- At "D:\sample.bmp"
- Acquired image is 8 bit image.
My first question is Why the bits are changing when I just set destination path ? All other code is exactly the same except I add one line to set this property.
I discussed with developer of TWAIN Drivers.
He told me to execute following sequence to set destination path
DG_CONTROL / DAT_SETUPFILEXFER / MSG_SET
When TWAIN Drivers developer execute above sequence from Twack.exe application, he get correct results.
My second question is How could I execute above sequence using LEAD ?
#2
Posted
:
Wednesday, February 7, 2007 6:09:27 AM(UTC)
Groups: Registered, Tech Support
Posts: 1,326
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hello,
Please test this using the minimum amount of code in a new project (just set the 2 capabilities and acquire). Does this also give a result with 8-bits? If yes, please send me this small project and I will check the issue further.
Thanks,
Maen Badwan
LEADTOOLS Technical Support
#3
Posted
:
Thursday, February 8, 2007 6:16:29 AM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 101
Attached herewith please find sample project.
#4
Posted
:
Sunday, February 11, 2007 4:40:38 AM(UTC)
Groups: Registered, Tech Support
Posts: 1,326
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hello,
Currently I am checking this issue, but I need to know the exact twain driver that you use to check this issue.
However, to be sure that the Twain driver is working properly, I need you to test using the standard Twain test utility from the Twain Working Group. This program is called Twacker and you can get it from here:
http://www.twain.org/devfiles/twack.zip
Thanks,
Maen Badwan
LEADTOOLS Technical Support
#5
Posted
:
Sunday, February 11, 2007 7:58:26 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 101
Hi,
The TWAIN Device I am using is special purpose medical equipment. TWAIN Drivers are developed by the developers of device manufacturer company. These drivers will only work if device is connected.
The Twack.exe application I mentioned in my first poste means Twacker.exe. I am using same for primary testing and then I implement same capabilities in my application.
Developer of drivers is also using Twacker.exe.
When we execute following sequence form Twacker program, we (me and Twain Developer) get correct results. But when I implement same thing in my program, image become 8 bit.
DG_CONTROL / DAT_SETUPFILEXFER / MSG_SET
- Set FileName parameter to whatever we want
ICAP_XFERMECH = TWSX_FILE
ICAP_BITDEPTH = 16
Out of above sequence, I do not know how to execute DG_CONTROL / DAT_SETUPFILEXFER / MSG_SET sequence. I guess setting FileTransferName property has the same effect. But it is changing the bits of the image.
Acquision through Twacker.exe gives correct results. My program fails. I am executing same Twain sequence from my program.
1) Why image converged to 8 bit when I just set FileTransferName property
2) How can I execute DG_CONTROL / DAT_SETUPFILEXFER / MSG_SET sequence from LEAD Tools to set its FileName parameter.
#6
Posted
:
Tuesday, February 13, 2007 10:25:46 AM(UTC)
Groups: Registered, Tech Support
Posts: 207
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
I have resolve this issue. Internally when we set the file name
we also reset all the capabilities. This is caused by some design
issues with the lower level portion of the tool kit. I will see if that
can be redesigned to prevent this from happening.
So the solution to your issue is this: Call
"RasterTwain.FileTransferName = twainFileName" before you set any
capabilities.
Otherwise the ICAP_BITDEPTH gets reset to the default value. I
have attached your demo modified for this solution. Please try
this out and let me know if this works for you.
Travis Montgomery
Senior Sales Engineer
#7
Posted
:
Friday, March 2, 2007 2:23:18 AM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 101
Yes, Its, working on my machine.
Still, I have to test with actual camera on client machine
I will let you know if any problem in future.
Thanks for the help
LEADTOOLS Support
Imaging
Imaging SDK Questions
Destination path for TWAIN File Transfer Mode
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.