LEADTOOLS Support
Imaging
Imaging SDK Questions
Re: Recommened contrast value for Twainproperties
This topic and its replies were posted before the current version of LEADTOOLS was released and may no longer be applicable.
#1
Posted
:
Wednesday, June 27, 2007 5:04:50 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 1
Hi,
We are using leadtool 11. And we used twainproperties to get the image in black and white, but the image we got, has more missing sections. So we decided to increase the L_INT nContrast, from default 2000 to 5000. And we get good image.
I would like to know, which is the recommended value for nContrast???
I attached your leadtool head file which consist of Twainproperties, for your reference
Twainproperties struct from Lttwn.h
typedef struct tagTWAINPROPERTIES
{
L_UINT32 lSize; /* the size of TWAINPROPERTIES - use sizeof(TWAINPROPERTIES) */
L_CHAR AppManufacturer[36];
L_CHAR AppProdFamily[36];
L_CHAR AppProdName[36];
L_CHAR SourceName[36];
L_INT nMaxPages;
L_INT nPixelType;
L_INT nBits;
L_INT nRes;
L_INT32 nXPos;
L_INT32 nYPos;
L_INT32 nWidth;
L_INT32 nHeight;
L_INT nBrightness;
L_INT nContrast;
L_INT nOrientation;
L_INT nFeederEnabled; /* enable the auto feeder */
L_INT nEnableAutoFeed; /* enable the automatic feeding */
L_INT nDuplex; /* detect whether duplex scanning is possible */
L_INT nEnableDuplex; /* enable the duplex scanning */
#ifdef WIN32
L_UINT32 dwReserved[3]; /* reserved fields, do not use */
#else
L_UINT32 dwReserved[4]; /* reserved fields, do not use */
#endif
} TWAINPROPERTIES, L_FAR * pTWAINPROPERTIES;
Best Regards
Prabahar
IPG R&D Hub, Hewlett-Packard
60 Alexandra Terrace,
The ComTech, SG 118502
TP: 672 72970
Registration No: 197000137C
#2
Posted
:
Thursday, June 28, 2007 4:08:53 AM(UTC)
Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Prabahar,
There is no single value that
will fit all different documents in different scanners. The optimum value
depends on different factors, such as the lighting conditions, the paper and
ink condition, the scanner used, and so on.
This means you should set the value to whatever suits
your particular case.
#3
Posted
:
Wednesday, July 4, 2007 5:30:22 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 7
Hi,
I am using leadtool v13, and my settings is similar to Prabar's. but I cannot set the contrast value to any number bigger that 2000. and after go throught the help file, I found that
Positive values up to +1000 Increase the contrast.
Negative values down to -1000 Decrease the contrast.
TWAIN_DEFAULT_CONTRAST [2000] Use the default.
So does this means that the default value is 2000, and the biggest Positive value is 1000? after reading this help file I am more confused.
please kindly help
thank you
zhang liang
#4
Posted
:
Wednesday, July 4, 2007 9:40:50 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 7
Hi,
Problem resolved, it is because that i have a function to check the return value of setProperty() method.
thank you.
zhang liang
#5
Posted
:
Wednesday, July 4, 2007 9:53:16 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 7
hi,
I am not sure whether this is an known issue in leadtool,
the problem is if I set the contrast rate to a value highter that 2000, then the setProperties() method will return -87 vaule "ERROR_TWAIN_BADVALUE -87 Data parameter out of range". allthought it returns a error, but the contrast rate is much better. and we can do a successful scan with this error message.
So the reason that last time I fail to set a value bigger that 2000 is because that, when I call setProperties() method, I will check whether leadtool will return an error message, if an error message is returned then I will cancel the scan job.
Just wondering, why leadtool return an error, but still set the value?
zhang liang
#6
Posted
:
Sunday, July 8, 2007 5:30:52 AM(UTC)
Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
When LEADTOOLS returns an error
from a Twain function, the error is usually sent by the Twain source (driver)
or Twain Source Manager.
Did you try this with different Twain drivers?
#7
Posted
:
Monday, July 9, 2007 11:44:48 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 7
hi,
when I set the contrast rate to a value larger than 2000, then leadtool will have a problem to handle this, and all the parameters will be reset to default value.
So I cannot increase the contrast rate to improve the image quality. so is there any other method we can use to improve this at application level?
thank you
zhang liang
#8
Posted
:
Wednesday, July 11, 2007 4:24:57 AM(UTC)
Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
You could try using
the SetCapability2 method of the RasterTwain2 COM object, to control the L_ICAP_CONTRAST
capability value.
#9
Posted
:
Thursday, July 12, 2007 5:13:47 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 7
Thank you, and could you please provide more information on this, it will be best if you can provide an example.
my structure now is:
SetProperties()
Acquire()
AcquireCallBack()
any suggestion, how could I integrate your method into my code?
thank you
zhang liang
#10
Posted
:
Sunday, July 15, 2007 9:12:31 AM(UTC)
Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Here's some VB code that I
tested with the latest version of LEADTOOLS 13 and it worked:
'global variable defined as:
'Dim WithEvents tw As
LEADRasterTwain2
Set tw = New LEADRasterTwain2
tw.InitSession (Me.hWnd)
tw.SelectSource
'tw.TwainAcquire Nothing,
Me.hWnd
Dim cap As New
LEADTwainCapability
cap.CapInfo.Capability =
L_ICAP_CONTRAST
cap.CapInfo.ConType =
LTwainContainerTypeConstants.L_TWON_ONEVALUE
Dim contrstVal As Single
contrstVal = 500
cap.CapOneValue.OneValItemType
= LTwainItemTypeConstants.L_TWTY_FIX32
cap.CapOneValue.OneValCapValue
= contrstVal
tw.SetCapability2 cap,
LTwainCapabilitiesSetConstants.L_LTWAIN_CAPABILITY_SET
Dim capGetter As New
LEADTwainCapability
capGetter.CapInfo.Capability =
L_ICAP_CONTRAST
capGetter.CapInfo.ConType =
LTwainContainerTypeConstants.L_TWON_ONEVALUE
tw.GetCapability2 capGetter,
LTwainCapabilitiesGetConstants.L_LTWAIN_CAPABILITY_GETCURRENT
MsgBox
capGetter.CapOneValue.OneValCapValue
tw.EndSession
#11
Posted
:
Monday, July 16, 2007 5:04:00 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 7
Hi,
thank you and sorry for the late reply, I do not have much experience with VB, do you set the contrast value to 500 in your code? if it is so, then we still did not solve my problem, since the value 2000 is still not good enough for our device, 500 sure cannot, actually I want to check with you whether we can set a value that much bigger that 2000, for example 5000.
and i have checked leadtool library, it seems that when we use setProperties() method, the max contrast value we can set mannuly is 1000, and the defalut value is 2000.
so by using your method what is the max value we can set?
thank you for your support.
zhang liang
#12
Posted
:
Monday, July 16, 2007 10:25:31 PM(UTC)
Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Zhang,
I used 500 because the Twain
driver I have here does not allow 2000.
In the Twain 1.9 specification
document, the topic about ICAP_CONTRAST states:
Allowed Values: -1000 to +1000
Are you sure your Twain driver allows values above
1000?
#13
Posted
:
Tuesday, July 17, 2007 10:27:06 PM(UTC)
Groups: Registered
Posts: 7
yeah, you are right, twain driver will not allowed any value above 1000 except the value 2000 which is default.
and it seems that we cannot improve this at applicatino level, then I will see whether I can improve this in driver level.
thank you
zhang liang
LEADTOOLS Support
Imaging
Imaging SDK Questions
Re: Recommened contrast value for Twainproperties
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.