Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 5, 2008 9:58:28 AM(UTC)
bcoleman

Groups: Registered

I'm fairly new to LEADTools.  I've got an application which needs to compress image files before transmission.  Mostly we're dealing with JPEG and DICOM files.  I'm using the LEADTools main OCX  control and the Load and Save methods.  I load the image file and then save it using an appropriate Quality Factor.  For DICOM files, I change the saved file format to the appropriate DICOM JPEG compression format (FILE_DICOM_JPEG_GRAY or FILE_DICOM_JPEG_COLOR).  Our DICOM files have custom tags in them.

What we're finding is that in the case of the DICOM files, the non-standard tags are being lost.  From what I've read of DICOM, it is not really an image file format, it's a tagged data storage format, and one of the tagged elements can be an image.  I assume that the Load/Save API is treating it as an image file, and only loading/saving the image element, resulting in the loss of the other tags.

A couple of questions.  The generic image Load/Save "view" has a concept of Comments for an image.  For DICOM files, do these correspond to the non-image tags in the DICOM file?  If so, would reading the comments from the orginal file and inserting them in the Comments property before saving result in all the tags being transferred to the new file?  Or am I going to have to deal with this via the DICOM API?